a quote from Lloyd Meeker…

“…your spiritual consciousness is the priest of your temple before your Lord who is your Father within you.” – from a letter dated March 8, 1937, published in “Letters to You,” p.29.

In Meeker’s view, your body is a temple within which the presence of God dwells, with consciousness (at least ideally) serving as the priest – mediating the divine presence outward to the world, through your body, your personality, your activity.   In Jesus, this was perfectly the case.  Is this true, to any extent, for me?  Does my consciousness serve in this way?

It can be easy to see this as a project that I have to work hard at – pray more, meditate more, fret over aspects of my life and what I should be doing.  And yet, if one believes Meeker, the reality of God’s life in us is always already the case.  The key is to allow our manic self-activity to calm itself enough, so that we can realize who we are (the very Image of God), and allow the Spirit’s activity to take over.  Somewhere else, Meeker advises: “Slow down, and love will change your fate.”

I have a fondness for Meeker, a homegrown unorthodox American Christian mystic, whose spiritual work began with a three day epiphany, right here in Nashville, back in the 1930s.

2 Responses to “a quote from Lloyd Meeker…”

  1. Mother Laura Says:

    Thanks John! This post was just what I needed today.

    I was feeling anxious about too much writing and not enough time to get ready for the semester, and nervous about mass tonight because we were supposed to have a guest. I was going to rush off to the tailor to pick up my green stole, then push myself to try and race through some more work–and then I recalled you words:

    It can be easy to see this as a project that I have to work hard at – pray more, meditate more, fret over aspects of my life and what I should be doing. And yet, if one believes Meeker, the reality of God’s life in us is always already the case. The key is to allow our manic self-activity to calm itself enough, so that we can realize who we are (the very Image of God), and allow the Spirit’s activity to take over. Somewhere else, Meeker advises: “Slow down, and love will change your fate.”

    So I walked in the sunshine instead of driving, looked at the snow-covered mountains and blue sky, bought pink carnations and a little dark chocolate, and rejoiced in the friendliness of the tailor and the woman who walked by and gave the thumbs up to my snazzy, bargain price green skirt. And I came back centered and joyful for the Eucharist, even when the guest didn’t show.

    I will try to keep this memory in my heart as the challenging week continues–prayers welcome too. God bless!

    Laura

  2. John Says:

    Hi Laura – Even if your guest did now show, it sounds like you made room for the presence of the true Guest! Warmly, John

Leave a Reply

