Journey of 1000 Miles

1004.6 miles, actually.  In 36 hours!

I set out on Saturday morning for Athens, Ohio, where I spent the afternoon visiting W and C, both of whom formerly served as priests in the (apparently all-but-defunct) Ordo Arcanorum Gradalis.  We had a great chat in front of the fire, in their lovely home in the woods, designed by C.  W was a huge help in my dissertation research, but we had never met in person.  It was an honor and a delight to finally do so. Y’all are Real Priests, forever.   The day only got better as we headed into Athens for dinner with H, also a wonderful priest (of the Leadbeaterian variety) who is briefly on our continent for his day job.  I wish I could have stayed longer, but worsening weather and dropping temperatures dictated a quick departure.

When the driving got too rough, I stopped overnight in Richmond, Indiana.  This brought back fond memories of a retreat at Earlham College, some years ago.  (Yeah, Quakers!)  Yesterday morning, I woke up to a half an inch of snow and 17 degrees.  An exchange with the attendant at the local gas station:

Me: So how are the roads this morning?
Gas Station Guy:  Are you from around here?
Me: No, I’m from Tennessee
Gas Station Guy:  Then, for you, they are bad!

I gritted my teeth and drove on to Indianapolis.  As the sun came up, the driving improved a lot.  I met up with my friend R and his wife-to-be K, and their insanely cute dog F.   R and K have been attending the local Evangelical Orthodox parish – these are the EOC folks who did not join the Antiochians or the OCA.   A (somewhat simplified) Eastern liturgy with Western hymns, space for spontaneous/charismatic worship, and preaching that combines Orthodox theology and evangelical delivery.  Yes, you can have all that in one church – I am surprised that the emergent, “generous orthodoxy” people have not paid more attention to the EOC.   http://www.evangelicalorthodox.org/  I have worshipped with the EOC before, but this was my first visit to the Indianapolis congregation – truly a warm and welcoming community.

Let this be a warning to pastors of indie churches everywhere – you never know when I might turn up in your congregation! 🙂  As Sister Mary Sue (http://orderofsantaignora.wordpress.com/) says, I’m in your church, worshipping your God!

After a very nice lunch with R and K, I hopped on I-65 and headed back to Nashville.  Needless to say, I’m exhausted.   Thanks to everyone along the way for the hospitality.  More when I recover….

7 Responses to “Journey of 1000 Miles”

  1. Tom Gilbert Says:

    What a trek! Glad you’re home safe and sound.

  2. R of R and K Says:

    Glad you made it home safe! K and I (and F!) enjoyed your visit, and hope that if it’s us heading your way our you heading our that it won’t be two years between visits again!

  3. +Wulfila Says:

    One of the lesser-known winter hobbies Midwesterners try to keep hidden from the rest of the world is to turn on the television or the internet to hear about some poor, innocent Southern state getting temperatures under 32 and about half an inch of snow – which inevitably leads to a 50 car pile-up and interviews with frantic locals who don’t know what to do, who then shut down the whole county for about two weeks and consider it a crisis of epic proportions. It’s incomprehensible to us, and (I’m ashamed to say) hilarious. Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa!

    http://climate.umn.edu/doc/twin_cities/twin_cities_snow.htm

  4. John Says:

    +Wulfila, you are not ashamed at all! 🙂

  5. Alexis Says:

    Oh yeah, don’t I know it! Having been raised in PA – the “apocalyptic” snows experienced in the south where my aunt & uncle now live were cause for much merriment. We often saw the news footage of the “frantic locals” fighting with one another in grocery stores just as the first flurries were gently landing on the pavement outside – JESUS IS COMING! And that’s MY Bread & Milk, mitts off granny!

  6. +Wulfila Says:

    OK, you’re right. I’m not in the least! 😉

  7. W & C Says:

    As the aforementioned folks we were very happy to have John drop in and he is welcome any time. We hope he budgets more time so he can relax in our woods. (you missed our magic grotto!)

Leave a Reply

