Memory eternal: Karl Pruter

Many of the regular readers here probably already know that Bishop Karl Hugo Pruter died yesterday evening, November 18, 2007, at age 86.  I blogged about his memoirs (The Blue Jellybean) back in March.  He wrote extensively on Old and Independent Catholicism (e.g., The Old Catholic Sourcebook) and was one of the best known and most loved bishops in the independent movement.  He was a former Congregationalist minister, and I think the intersections of free church/congregationalist thought and Old Catholicism in his work could stand more exploration than they have seen thus far – and might contain interesting hints for future ecclesial directions.  A project for someone!

3 Responses to “Memory eternal: Karl Pruter”

  1. Patrick Says:

    I had the priveledge of living with bishop Pruter for a couple of weeks before he passed, and all I can say is I wish I could have gotten to know him better, He left a lasting impression with not only me but my children as well, He will truly be missed. Rest in peace father Karl, we love you and miss you, and you will be in our hearts forever.

    • Teresa Pruter Says:

      Dear Patrick,
      As I now approach the 6th year of Father Karl’s passing I found inspiration from your comment back in the year 2007. God bless you honey and your children. Let us not forget what he added to our lives. I would hope that you would continue to help your children to the pathway to God that Father Karl was pointing us to. I am still trying…..and he said it was all any of us could do….just keep on trying. I wish during those last days we shared with Father Karl that I could have gotten to know you and your family better. Most Sincerely, Teresa Pruter

  2. Jetpacks Says:

    Sorry to see him go.

    Here’s my encounter with him:

    http://www.radiofreebabylon.com/broadcast/rfbbroadtranscriptsbavarian.php

Leave a Reply

